Snaps Zero Build

The Japanese WW2 fighter. This kit is virtually all metal and available from DeAgostini at http://www.model-space.com

Snaps Zero Build

Sponsor

Sponsor

Snaps Zero Build

Postby snapdragon » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:06 am

Well, Most of the stuff I need is now here. My internet connection is back up (sort of) and I am already looking to alter this build from the Magazine instructions - more on that another time.

Most of the engine is here so that is where I will start. This engine is full of detail and is, I think White metal. The castings are excellent in detail and I am sure that once done the engine will be a draw in itself. I wanted to test the Lifecolor aotake paint (LC-UA-136) so initially rather then mess about with the airbrush with such a small quantity of paint needed I started painting. Although I have some Vallejo primer in a big spray tin the whole point of the original aotake paint was a preservative to prevent the airframe rusting and weakenin and the colour was (and still is) a unique one. The actual colour I would call it is turquoise. To try and get the correct colour I deciced to put it on to the metal with no primer at all. The result on the white metal is fantastic and immediatly the cylinder block parts spring to life.

Most of the parts of hte cylinderblock already painted in the lifecolour aotake blue. THis matches the paint chips I have seen exactly.

Dry fit of the cylinder block.